Step Two! (Getting OUT)

Stagnation is my enemy.

Video Games are my nemesis.

Apathy/Lethargy is the bane of all success

This step two is all about what it takes to actually get that motivation talked about in step one. Much like splashing a little water to get used to the temperature, that first step is full of beautiful idealism and (dare I say it?) naivete.

I love podcasts, I listen to books on tape and really get a kick out of the spoken word. Perhaps that my niche in the future, I’ve been told I have an excellent radio/phone voice, but that’s not why I bring it up. Mur Lafferty has one of the longest running podcasts for new aspiring fiction writers called “I should be writing” and in a recent interview with Myke Cole, author of the Shadow Ops trilogy and general bad ass, discussed the topic of motivation and what aspiring authors need to hear. His said:

Look, I get it. If I’m am aspiring writer, I’d sit down at my laptop and tip my hat to the all the emotions that are building those emotions up, then I’ll grit my teeth, flex hard and lock that sh** up. Your career, just like the human body, is a binary system. Either you do what you have to do, or you don’t.

Today I knocked some that stagnation in it’s teeth. I have been lazy lately and I need to just suck it up and lock it down.

It may sound like a hallmark card, but It doesn’t matter how many times you fall down, or DON’T do something. What matters is what you DO, whether you get back up if you fall down.

Leave a Reply

